Deputy Speaker Ends ECOWAS Parliament


The Delegation includes Hon. Mabinty Fatmata Funna, Hon. Brima Victor Sidi Kebbie, Hon. Brimah Conteh and Hon. Ajibola Emmanuel Manly- Spain.
However, after series of deliberations on the socio-economic and security situation within the ECOWAS Sub-Region, Country Reports were done by various representatives of delegates that arrive from their respective countries.
Sierra Leone was ably represented by Hon. Mabinty Fatmata Funna, who presented the Country Report.
In her report, Hon. Mabinty Fatmata Funna told the jam packed ECOWAS House of Parliament that Sierra Leone Government is expediting the process of ratification of the remaining Ten (10) Protocols. Hon. Mabinty Funna furthered that Forty-Three (43) out of Fifty-Three (53) Protocols have already been ratified.
She also spoke of the movement of ECOWAS citizens and the Protocol on free movement of Persons and Rights of Establishment. She added that Sierra Leone Immigration Department has adopted a policy aimed at prohibiting any restrictions against ECOWAS citizens wishing to enter, reside and or establish business in Sierra Leone.
In addition, Hon. Mabinty Fatmata Funna said that the Immigration Department equally removed all Financial restrictions and obligations attached to the issuance of Visas and residential Permits for ECOWAS Citizens provided they produce authentic travelling documents on request.
Meanwhile, Hon. Mabinty Funna spoke of the Infrastructural Development currently ongoing as Government continues to construct major trunk roads across the country and there is some progress as well in the construction of key INTRA-ECOWAS Highway linking Sierra Leone to  neighboring countries.